Renee Gadson, Executive Director

In August 2017, Dallas Urban Debate Alliance welcomed Renee Gadson as its new Executive Director. Renee is an energetic nonprofit professional with over 12 years of experience working in mission-driven organizations that have a direct impact on improving communities. She has a track record of success in strategic planning, donor relations, and establishing key partnerships to take organizations to the next level.

Previously, Renee served as the North Texas Director for Souper Bowl of Caring, a nonprofit organization that mobilizes communities to collect food and monetary resources to support local food banks and food pantries across the country. She also served as a Development Officer for United Way of Metropolitan Dallas where managed the workplace giving portfolio for Dallas area law firms, Frito-Lay/PepsiCo, Citi and Bank of America. Prior to moving to Dallas, she also served as a Resource Development Manager for United Way of Northern New Jersey.

A native Washingtonian, Renee also served as Executive Director of Jack and Jill of America, Incorporated in Washington, DC. Jack and Jill is a membership organization comprised of mothers with children between the ages of 2-19 who actively work to develop their children as future leaders through chapter programming, community service, legislative advocacy, and philanthropic giving.

Renee holds a BS in Government Management from Southeastern University in Washington, DC. She moved to the Dallas area in 2013 with her family.

Cameron O’Bannon: Programs Coordinator

A Dallas native, Cameron comes to Dallas Urban Debate with extensive experience in both debate and education. As a student at the Jesuit College Preparatory School of Dallas, Cameron was an accomplished debater, an experience he has put to use academically and professionally for over a decade.

Cameron holds a Bachelor of Science in Foreign Service from Georgetown University and a Master of Arts in Political Science from the University of Notre Dame.

Christy Harris: Volunteer Coordinator 

Christy comes to Dallas Urban Debate Alliance with a passion for the non-profit sector a Bachelor’s in Social Work and a Master’s in Business Management from Texas A&M University-Commerce. As an alumnus of DISD, she is passionate about helping future generations reach their full potential, so that they may live their best life.

Schools and Coaches

  • Adamson High School – Ricardo Malbrew
  • Ann Richards – Bridgett Hudson
  • Atwell – Yolanda Simpkins
  • Barack Obama Male Leadership Academy – Sakennia Reed
  • Benjamin Franklin Middle School – Shawn Burns
  • Billy Earl Dade Middle School – Andre Curtis Ross
  • Bryan Adams – Michelle Read, John Kendrick
  • Comstock Middle School – Brandy Runnels-Dhakal, Tabitha Obets
  • Dallas Environmental Science Academy – Musa Haroon, Adriane Davis
  • D.A. Hulcy Middle School – Ivory Welcome, Ramena Williams
  • E.D. Walker Middle School – Stanley Haines
  • Emmett J. Conrad – Andrew Eddy, Janay Harvey
  • Francisco Medrano – Traci Morton
  • Gaston Middle School – Adrienne McCann, Arianne St. John
  • Hector Garcia Middle School – Laura Lamb
  • Hillcrest – Christina Adebowale, Maxwell Miller
  • Hill Middle School – Nikki Hall
  • James Madison HS – Gary Cooper
  • Kathlyn Gilliam Collegiate Academy – Jerquila Slaughter
  • Kennedy-Curry Middle School – Alfred Roberts
  • Kimball – Thomas Hammonds
  • Law Magnet High School – Derek Liles
  • Long Middle School – Leslie Kennon
  • Marsh – Anna Williams
  • Molina High School – Melyssah Colerangle, Brandon Kilgore
  • North Dallas High School – Bridget Goree
  • Oliver Wendell Holmes – Maurice Williams
  • Piedmont G.L.O.B.A.L. Academy – Jacquede Moore, Keyshay Mozee
  • Quintanilla Middle School – Lashonda Roberson, Lisa Taylor
  • Rangel Girls High School – Myra Whitlock, Jo Rohde
  • Roosevelt – Ryan Smits
  • Rosemont Middle School – Klaudia Vega, Maria Martinez
  • Sam Tasby Middle School – Robert Hopson, Margaret James
  • Samuell – Don Cheatum
  • Science and Engineering Magnet – Mary Gregg, Ping Zhuge
  • Seagoville HS – Teresa Carrasco, Viridiana Suarez
  • Skyline – Reginald Sterling, Daniel Taylor
  • Smith New Tech HS – Doug Davis
  • South Oak Cliff – Marques Cameron
  • Spence – Patricia Hay, Mary Turner Rudes, Meagan Smith
  • Spruce High School – Daniel Sharp, Sean Haley
  • Stockard Middle School – Brandi McGruder
  • Stone Montessori – Jesse Lopez, Arnell Sherman
  • Storey Middle School – Samantha Salinas, Carrie Gentry
  • Sunset – Dudley Hughes
  • TAG Magnet – Jose Correa
  • Thomas Jefferson – Matt Summers
  • Travis – Karen Graves, Brad Mayfield
  • Trinidad Garza – Stephen Reyna
  • Woodrow Wilson – Bob Hearne, Joseph Reyes
  • W.T. White – Karla Lainez
  • YMLA at Fred Florence – Trevon Smith
  • Zan W Holmes Middle School – Jeannette Glass